Chicken Marsala for the Famiglia

This is a dish that I’m disappointed with every time I order it at a restaurant. It’s either too salty, tangy or greasy. Something is just off. So I stopped ordering it thinking that I just don’t like the taste of chicken marsala….until I made it myself. My cousins were over for a big family meal and I wanted to try something different. So I looked up some recipes for chicken marsala. I checked out the following ones:

Tyler Florence’s from the Food Network

Epicurious

Food.com

Saveur.com

After reading through each of them carefully, I decided to go with the Epicurious recipe, mainly because of its use of sage. I love the taste of sage but I’ve never used it in cooking and I could tell the cream, wine and sage were going to go amazingly together. It also had shallots which would give it a nice sweet flavor. The recipe calls for dry Marsala wine, but I mistakenly bought sweet Marsala wine. The other recipes call for sweet wine. So to counter the sweetness a bit, I added more lemon juice which worked out perfectly.

The hardest part of this dish is frying the chicken. It takes a while and the kitchen gets quite warm and YOU get quite warm. I fried them in my large pan which fit 4 or 5 pieces of chicken. I also bought the chicken breasts already sliced. Once the chicken breasts were floured and fried, I made the sauce. At first the sauce tasted like it was missing something. I didn’t want to tamper with it too much before I added the chicken because I knew the chicken would change the taste of it. And boy did it! Once I added the chicken to the sauce all the ingredients came together. The sauce thickened and had just the right amount of tanginess balanced with creaminess.

I paired this with buttermilk garlic mashed potatoes. It was excellent. I would definitely make this dish again and I recommend you do too!

18528_10101806622989842_61641591281280491_n

Leave a Reply

